Saturday, April 9, 2016

There is still time for you to Register for NoirCon 2016 with a $50 savings. DO IT TODAY. IT WOULD BE A CRIME NOT TO!

Crime Poetry January 1982

NoirCon 2016 Registration is Open!

NoirCon 2016 will be held Wednesday, October 26 - Sunday, October 30 in Philadelphia, PA. Full details available here on our website.
SPECIAL! Register before 4/30 and save $50! Get the All-Access pass for $250 (regular price $300) and enjoy all the panels and parties, plus the awards banquet, and more!

2016 award recipients include:

The David L. Goodis Award: Aurélien Masson (editorial director, Série Noire, Éditions Gallimard)

The Jay and Deen Kogan Award for Excellence: Charles Ardai (author and publisher, Hard Case Crime) and Ann and Stona Fitch (publishers, Concord Free Press)

The Anne Friedberg Award for Contributions to Noir and Its Preservation: Barry Gifford (author, screenwriter, and publisher, Black Lizard)

Keynote Speaker: Woody Haut (author, Pulp Culture: Hardboiled Fiction and the Cold WarNeon Noir: Contemporary American Crime FictionHeartbreak and Vine: The Fate of Hardboiled Writers in Hollywood; and the novel, Cry For a Nickel, Die For a Dime)

Special Presentation of the Hammett Prize at NoirCon 2016
The North American Branch of the International Association of Crime Writers is pleased to announce nominees for their annual Hammett Prize for a work of literary excellence in the field of crime writing by a US or Canadian author. The nominees are as follows:
The Stranger, by Harlan Coben (Dutton)
Sorrow Lake: A March and Walker Crime Novel, by Michael J. McCann (Plaid Raccoon Press)
The Whites: A Novel, by Richard Price, writing as Harry Brandt (Henry Holt)
The Do-Right, by Lisa Sandlin (Cinco Puntos Press)
The Organ Broker: A Novel, by Stu Strumwasser (Arcade Publishing)
A reading committee of IACW/NA members selected the nominees, based on recommendations from other members and the publishing community. The committee was headed by Michael Bowen and included Lorenzo Carcaterrra, Jill Kelly, Sharol Louise, and Ann Romeo.
The winner will be chosen by three distinguished outside judges: Peter Eckersall, author of Performativity and Event in 1960s Japan: City, Body, Memory and Professor in Theatre at CUNY Graduate Center; Gina Pollock, owner of BR Books in Lancaster, PA; and author Luanne Rice, whose most recent novel is The Secret Language of Sisters

The organization will name the Hammett Prize winner during the NoirCon literary conference in Philadelphia, October 26-30. The winner will receive a bronze trophy, designed by sculptor Peter Boiger. 

The Hammett Award Luncheon will be on October 29th, 2016.

More special guests and panelists to be announced soon!

We hope to see you there!

Lou Boxer and the NoirCon Crew

No comments:

Post a Comment